Wanderings Down the Weavers’ Way in Norfolk

So, I had the chance last week of a few days at my in-law’s cottage by the sea in scenic Norfolk. Now, late November isn’t exactly a perfect time of year for a seaside holiday in England – and we did have a day or two of gales and squalls – but surprisingly for the most part we had really decent weather. As a result, well, I managed to squeeze in two sections of walking along the Weavers’ Way. This is a long distance path which runs from Cromer in the north, to Great Yarmouth in the south of the country – linking possibly the two most iconic of Norfolk’s beach destinations. Here’s the video for you to enjoy of the first sections.

I have to say that despite the ‘farm incident’ along the way, this was an utterly brilliant walking experience. The combination of the weather, late autumnal colours and reasonably dry (well, only damp) route made for a relatively easy exploration. I was helped this time my Mrs Llama zipping around visiting churches herself, and making a couple of appearances en route to drop off supplies – slightly unexpected and I get the impression that I shouldn’t get used to this sort of support team assistance! Somewhat surprisingly I was actually more shattered at the end of this first shorter leg than I was after my second stint three days later. Not sure why!

Now, I love coastal walking which made walking directly away from Cromer at the very start rather painful. Last year I hiked from our holiday home towards both Cromer and Yarmouth, so got in lots of sea air. Of course, I wasn’t filming my videos back then, so these excursions are sadly lost to posterity. Maybe one I’m back and finish off the Weavers’ Way next year, I’ll pick up those routes once more, as walking the coastal path is a surprisingly varied experience – even in heavy sea fogs.

As this is the third long distance pathway I’ve tackled this year, I am quite pleased – although sorry that we ran out of days for me to complete the whole route. Something about being on holiday where Mrs Llama expected me to go walking along some shorter routes with her on other days. Ahem. Actually, these were really enjoyable strolls too, and it was wonderful for once to have a hiking companion – even if she did insist on stopping off to visit every church we passed along the route. Rather felt I needed to indulge her after her generous support of me on the two other days of hiking.

Anyway, as always, if you’ve any thoughts on the video, the hike or indeed where I might explore next – drop me a comment in the box below or over on the video itself.

Leave a comment