Yomping Along the East Coast to SkegVegas (Lincolnshire)

Lincolnshire’s holiday coast reveals hidden gems and easy walking between its popular resorts.

Finally, I had the chance to get out for a decent new route, after a rather washed out March saw me doing little more than road walking each week. Okay, I did do a sort of interesting 20 miles a day or two before this one, but basically forgot to take my recording gear with me. Before I get carried away, here’s the video.

It was a more interesting day than I’d expected, although it has to be said the natural wonders are a little spares along the coastline path. Aside from the sparkling sea and sky that is. A lot of the 15.54 miles of this route is along a concrete path, often lightly or heavily dusted with sand. It made for an extraordinarily easy route to follow [1], so maps weren’t really much use for once. However, the very low hills on the route were no trouble to tackle at all – I’m not convinced RunKeeper measured them accurately either as there is no way I climbed 500+ feed on this route. 50 feet – yes!

Of course, the latter half and conclusion of the walk were slightly spoiled by a family emergency [2], which meant that Mrs Llama was in no mood to hand around at the end and find some tasty seaside chips. Which means this is the second seaside walk I’ve done this year where I’ve been denied chips at the end. For the next one…whenever that is…chips are going to be a certainty, I can tell you!

I hope to get back to the Lincolnshire coast soon, before the main summer season arrives, as I’d like to do some coast and in-land routes that I have in mind. Or perhaps get back up to Cleethorpes once more and walk in that area again. Who knows, there’s plenty of opportunities ahead!

Hopefully – family medical emergencies aside – I can get in another new route this weekend over in Nottinghamshire, which will be about as different to this one as it is possible to be. Watch out for it, and as always keep on trekking, and if you’ve any thoughts, comments or suggestions, drop them in the comments below.

Endnotes

[1] For the most part, I got kinda turned around near Anderby Creek and as I approached Skegness, but nothing to slow me down.

[2] My mother-in-law had been taken seriously ill.

Leave a comment