Over the (Many) Hills & Far Away: National Forest Way 3

Okay, I’m writing this entry from a slightly unique position. I walked the third part of the National Forest Way last Monday [1] – a healthy 19 mile+ outing. And while the video came out today, I actually walked the final leg of the trip yesterday (Sunday). So, for once, I hadn’t finished the previous video before the new one came out. Hence, I am trying to split the memories from both walks so I make sure I only talk about one rather than both. But I think I might end up still cross-comparing!

Anyway, watch for yourself and then come back here for some more thoughts.

Hence, the third leg set off from Ticknall, and it was in slightly drier conditions underfoot than I’ve been walking in all summer, but also in the last gasps of summer heat. We we’re well into Indian Summer territory, as it was sunny and quite warm, although the October sun wasn’t quite so intense. The route though was actually lots of fun, although containing a whole lot more hill climbing than I expected over the full distance – certainly in the final miles I could feel my Llama-legs running out of steam as a result.

The route on this leg of the trip flipped back and forth between Derbyshire and Leicestershire, due to these counties’ ancient and sometimes rather baffling configuration: why does Derbyshire have that strange south-western protuberance near Swadlincote for example? All the same, the lovely weather and stunning scenery once more made for a great walk. Thing is though, I planned to go further to try and reduce the final leg of the trip, but was glad when I arranged with Mrs Llama to pick me up in charming Rosliston all the same. Guess that means a mega-walk to finish off the Way.[2]

Now, should I mention the highlight of the walk? Yeah! Alpacas – so many alpacas. As per my online name, I am a huge fan of camelids, and so to come across a huge grazing flock of them [3] directly on my route was a big win. Meeting these fluffy fellows probably put a spring in my step for many miles to come, although I found it hard to walk away from them.

On the downside, I once again experienced how much poorer the wayside signage is in Derbyshire, compared to my native Leicestershire.[4] I might bitch about it some more in the video, but certainly there’s some work needed by their pathways people to improve it – and many of the National Forest Way markers are broken, faded or just plain missing!

There were though, lots of woods to experience on this section of the Way – possibly the most since the first part back in Leicestershire. Which, given the rich early autumn sun, made for a lot of bless’d shade to enjoy. I confess of all the parts of the walk, this is the section I would love to do again, and to take more time to experience the surroundings. But tide and time and trail wait for no Llama, so onwards I trek. I hope my genuine pleasure along the route comes across on film.

Come join me later this week [5] and enjoy my final epic, extra long, final trek along the National Forest Way and I’m telling you this now (no spoilers)  – you will not believe what I had to walk through in the final miles!

Follow in my Paw Prints

If you want to follow my route – here’s my guide: https://www.routeyou.com/r/acurpb


Endnotes

[1] That’d be a week ago today

[2] I’d estimated 24 miles to go across Stage 4 and 5. Turned out on checking it was just over 21 miles.

[3] At Charnwood Forest Alpaca Farm.

[4] Staffordshire is even worse – see part 4 later this week.

[5] Likely the weekend, what with paid-employment and my glacial uploading speeds.

Leave a comment