From Floods to Marshlands with Windmills Aplenty: The Climax of the Weavers’ Way

It’s a new season of videos, but the end for the Norfolk based Weavers’ Way trail.

Last weekend, and partly in preparation for yesterday’s marathon, I took myself back to Norfolk for a few days. Ostensibly this was for a short break with my good lady, but for me the core of the weekend was a chance to tackle the final section of the Weavers’ Way long distance path. Last autumn, late November to be precise, I’d taken on the first two sections heading south from Cromer across a couple of non-consecutive days – as detailed in earlier posts. I had an inkling to do the last stretch ending in Great Yarmouth back then but as Mrs Llama – for some reason – wanted me to spend some of the week with her, I deferred it to this year.

Okay, part of my reasoning for putting it off was that it had been a wet November and the chance of some flooding blocking my way was possible. So, with these twin reasons pressing on my mind I said ‘Right, let’s see if there’s time in the new year to come back and have another crack at it!’

Fast forward to late February – incidentally the wettest on record – and as chance would have it I was back in the area again. After three months more rainfall. Ah…damn. But it was a case of either tackle the Way this weekend or wait until the late autumn for my next chance – a year after I started – to finish the route. So, call it madness, foolhardiness or determination my sights were set on finishing the Way last week. Take a look at the video below for the full experience and to see how I got on.

So, firstly – yes, this was further than I would have liked, but given I’ve spent the last month walking marathon plus distances every weekend, it was much less of a physical distance challenge. My fitness is certainly at a peak currently. Norfolk’s relative flatness also helped. Plus the weather was, for February and the tail-end of winter, damn near perfect. Light sun and some clouds, which made for some gorgeous scenery effects. Hence, everything it seemed was in my favour…well, not quite everything.

You see, the wet winter had a major impact on the route. At times the ground was muddy and slippery, and at others was totally underwater. And that included stretches of concrete pathways that otherwise would have been a fast-traversal option. On top of that the air temperature at the start was around 2°C, making for a chilly start.  Given my boots’ waterproofing isn’t really designed for being submerged underwater for extended periods of time, I did have slight concerns I’d get overlly chilled. But as the day warmed up to a high of 8°C, this became less of an issue.

Consequently, though the going was more challenging than I’d expected alongside the Broads. Being muddy and soaked to the skin isn’t my ideal hiking condition at the end of a walk, let alone in mile 1 of almost 25! [1] So, yes, this diminished the fun of tackling the route a little. With that in mind, once I came to cross the marshlands to the west of Great Yarmouth I was also in for a further navigational challenge. I’ll let you experience that on the video to find out exactly what it was.

All the same, I was glad to reach the end of the Weavers’ Way, albeit as seems to be recurrent theme of these, without much in the way of fanfare at its end. Just a simple sign pointing 61 miles back the way I’d just come to the start at Cromer. Now, it wasn’t a bad route, and certainly the Cromer first stretch was gorgeous and varied in terrain and things to spot along the way. The other two stretches were less exciting, [2] but all the same I’m glad to have tackled the route as a whole.

For now, my next video walk is one I’ve planned rather than a predetermined one – but I shall be seeking out another long-distance pathway in the near future. Just as soon as I can persuade Mrs Llama that it’s a good idea to take me out and pick me up from its various stages…

Endnotes

[1] See also yesterday’s marathon hike for a good soaking.

[2] Well, if you liked railways, I suspect the second leg had more to recommend it. And if you’re a windmill buff – you can fill your boots on the final leg. Also with water though.

Leave a comment