Way Out Along the National Forest Way (Again)

So, yeah this is my third stint on the Forest Way and…no, you haven’t missed a video or entry. The thing is, a couple of weeks ago I set off from Bagworth with the intention of doing the next bit of the route and…well around Coalville things started to go wrong. I took a slightly wrong path for a mile or so, and then while I managed to course correct then took another wrong path and ended up two miles off course. And, oh yes, I’d managed to slash my palm open with an unexpected overhanging bramble too. So, with just under seven miles on the clock I called in the evac chopper [1] and called it a day.

Now, some might say ‘carry on from where you were doing okay’, as Mrs Llama did. But I thought ‘Nah, the video will look all wrong’, and plus I really wanted to do a long video walk again. Hence, last week saw me back at Bagworth for section two 2.0. This time I made damned sure I wasn’t going wrong, and while there were the usual slight missteps along the way, I pretty much stuck 95% to the exact route.

Here, you can watch the results for yourself.

As a result, I had a brilliant time as I hiked a good 18 miles, leaving Leicestershire behind and heading into Derbyshire at last. The route was surprising, challenging in places but above all beautiful. [2] Despite the rain at the end of the route too, I was actually happy to keep going – but having made arrangements to be collected at Ticknall, had to call an end to the day. Really looking forward to getting back out there on the next chunk kicking off in a day or two I hope – if the weather holds! [3]

Despite the signage at times, the National Forest Way is really growing on me, and I can’t wait to find out what it’s like once I reach Staffordshire – not sure I’ve ever knowingly hiked in that county before so that’s a real first for me.

So, keep your eyes open for the third part of my walk – which hopefully won’t go awry and require a do-over.

Route Guidance

To follow in my Paw Prints – visit: https://www.routeyou.com/r/acpsjq


Endnotes

[1] Mrs Llama’s Golf.

[2] Let’s not speak of the chunk through Ashby-de-la-Zouch which frankly I could have lived without.

[3] Mrs Llama had a minor op this week, so is taking a break from driving for another day or so. Hence, no Saturday hike for me this week.

Leave a comment