Taking on the Seagrave Wolds Challenge 2023

So, every year here in north Leicestershire one of the villages near me puts on a 16 mile cross country route. Unlike a lot of these sort of things, the even is open to walkers and hikers, rather than just runners. The course also alters every year, so you’re never quite sure what you’re in for – and given it takes places in early November the weather and ground conditions can be challenging. This is my second year of entry, and my first stab at recording some of the event.

The weather on the day was pretty good, chilly but sunny, and after the rains of recent weeks this was a good outcome. Then again because of all that rain, mud was quite a common obstacle along the way. I have to add that the organisers and volunteers – who staff the check points, set out the route and work on the various refreshment stops – were brilliant again. I may be slightly biased as Mrs Llama was on one of them, but they all did a brilliant job. It was also quite fun to run into friends and neighbours along the way as a result – as a lot of the local village people in the area get involved.

Anyway, I suspect this will be my last real cross country route for the year…nah, I’m kidding, I’ve plans for next week for a little bit of bonus walking. That is, if the weather allows. So watch out for another video or two before we slump into the real winter time roadwalking period.

Enjoy, and as always, if you’ve any thoughts, drop me a line in the comments here or on the video itself.

[Edit]

I forgot that Mrs Llama was standing close to the start and made her own short film at the start of the race. Of course she stopped filming just before I passed by, so you’re prevented from enjoying a shot of me strutting by at high speed. More’s the pity!

Leave a comment