Short Winter Hikes

What have I been getting up to in the closed season?

Regular readers may have noticed I’ve not written much for the past month or two, and might have concluded I’d not been out walking. Far from it, I’ve been out pounding the fields and roads virtually every single weekend – with the exception of the one where I had a stinking cold! Actually, as I’m building up to a special event in March, I am actually walking ever more than normal. Sadly, most of my walks are around the area local to me – and with the British winter weather in full effect [1] they aren’t the most photogenic.

So, instead I’ve been producing a few new shorts to give people a taste of what it’s like to get out on the hiking trails during the months when most sensible [2] people are keeping to the towns, cities and nice warm cafés. Here’s the link to the shorts playlist.

If you’re lucky you’ll find I’m adding one or two new ones every week, just to recount what I’m experiencing out there. Yes, it is mostly mud – oh so much mud. I fear my washing machine is suffering for my art these days.

Anyway, hopefully if we get a dry week or two I might squeeze in at least one new real trek video soon – so there’s that to look forward to. However, trusting in the British winter weather to be kind might be a challenge too far!

Incidentally, the above post tile is a bit of a lie – my walk this Friday past was 22 miles long, so hardly a ‘short’ hike at all!


Endnotes

[1] Rain. More rain. Also rain.

[2] E.g., not me.

Leave a comment